City Council

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.
The City of Poplar Bluff, Missouri, is a third class city under state law and operates under an optional council-manager form of government. The City Council consists of seven elected Council members, one from each of five wards and two at-large members, each serving staggered three-year terms. Each year, members of the Council elect a mayor and mayor pro tem.


  1. Susan McVey, Councilwoman for 1st Ward

    Susan McVey

    Susan McVey was elected to represent the 1st Ward in April 2016 and is dedicated to do her best 24/7 in helping the citizens. Ms. McVey is a former Councilmember for the At Large Ward, having served from 2004 – 2014 and was Mayor in 2008 and 2009. She is also a Certified Municipal Official, a past board member and past President of Missouri Municipal League. 

  1. Ed DeGaris, Mayor and Councilman for 2nd Ward

    Ed DeGaris

    Mr. Ed DeGaris was elected to the Council in April, 2009, representing the 2nd Ward. He retired from the Poplar Bluff Police Department in February, 2009 after thirty three years of service to the community. During Mr. DeGaris career as a Police Officer, he received the department’s highest award in 1978, being named Officer of the Year. He is a past Mayor, having been elected Mayor in 2011, 2012 and 2013 and was elected to the position again in April 2016. Mr. DeGaris is married to Donna, has three children, Chris, Liz and Ross, eight grand kids and two great grand kids. He enjoys volunteering and giving back to the community. 

  1. Barbara Horton - Councilwoman for 3rd Ward

    Barbara Horton

    Councilwoman Barbara Horton was elected to Council in April 2016 to represent the Third Ward. Barbara volunteers for Haven House and Women Aware in her spare time and says these organizations are important to her since they offer opportunities for individuals to better their lives, the lives of their families and the community.  Ms. Horton attended TRCC and Arkansas State University and even though she has won awards for her writing, her biggest award/reward is when something she has written causes changes or helps an individual, family or community improve their situation in life. Barbara is available to listen to each concern a citizen has, examine the issues and find answers for those concerns.

  1. Philip Crocker, Mayor Pro Tem and Councilman for 4th Ward

    Philip Crocker

    Philip Crocker was elected to the 4th Ward in April, 2015. He is the son of Travis and Fay Crocker, a 1982 graduate of Poplar Bluff High School and a graduate of the University of Memphis. Mr. Crocker is also a Veteran having served in the United States Navy. He is currently a senior accountant at Black River Medical Center. 

  1. Peter Tinsley, Councilman for 5th Ward

    Peter Tinsley

    Peter Tinsley was elected to represent the 5th Ward in April, 2014 and is dedicated to serving the citizens of Poplar Bluff. He is a lifelong resident of PB, a member of the United Methodist Church and President of the United Methodist Men and has served on the Administrative Council and served on several boards. Mr. Tinsley enjoys volunteering for the Red Cross and has deployed for hurricane disasters and helped with flooding disasters in Poplar Bluff. 

  1. David Johnson, Councilman At Large

    David Johnson

    Mr. David Johnson was elected to City Council in April, 2014 in the At Large Ward and is the immediate past Mayor Pro Tem. Councilman Johnson enjoys attending training for local governments and networking with other communities. He retired from teaching after 33 years and enjoys giving back to the community and is a member on the Butler County Fair Board, the Recycling Grace Board and is President of HASP and multiple City boards.  He is also a member of Amvets Post 29 and VFW Post 6477.  He has been busy the last 10 years as a self-employed electrician. He is married to Cindy and they have two daughters, Lesley and Amy and one granddaughter, Libby.